WILSON COUNTY SHERIFFS

Wilson County was created February 13, 1860 from Karnes and Bexas Counties and was named for James C. Wilson, member of the Mier Expedition and later a State Senator. The county was organized August 6,1860 and has had the county seat change locations several times. Sutherland Springs was the first county seat from 1860-1867; then Lodi from 1867-1883 and finally Floresville from 1883 until present. There have been twenty-six men and one lady who have served as sheriff during the history of the county with three of the men serving twice.

- Samuel W. Barker was elected the first sheriff on August 6, 1860; re-elected August 4, 1862 and served until August 1, 1864.
- Charles Y. Sang was elected on August 1, 1864 and served until September 1865.
- W.W. Styron was appointed on September 1, 1865 by Governr A. J. Hamilton and served until June 25, 1866.
- Samuel W. Barker was elected a second time on June 25, 1866 and served until November 1, 1867 when he was removed by General J. J. Reynolds' Special Order # 195.
- Manuel Flores was appointed on November 1, 1867 by General J. J. Reynolds' Special Order # 195 and served until November 25, 1867 when he resigned.
- W. W. Black was appointed on December 9, 1867 and served until January 1,1868 when he resigned. None of this on Sheriff Black is in the State Election Register but is from the county records.
- Lorenzo Trevino was appointed on March 3, 1868 by General Hancock's Special Order # 48 and served until June 9, 1869 when he was removed by General J. J. Reynolds' Special Order # 136.
- Pierre Regis "Pedro" Trial was appointed on March 3, 1868 by General Reynolds' Special Order #136 and served until December 3, 1869.
- Nemicio de la Zenda was elected on December 3, 1869; was re-elected either in late 1873 or early 1874 as he was qualified on March 31, 1874; re-elected February 15, 1876 but declined to qualify.
- L. Yelvington was elected on December 3, 1869 and served until January 18, 1877 when his bondsmen withdrew and the office was declared vacant.
- Robert C. Houston was appointed on January 29, 1877; was elected November 5, 1878 and served until November 2, 1880.
- T. S. Wyatt was elected on November 2, 1880 and served until November 7, 1882.
- Asa William Murray was elected on November 7, 1882 and served until November 4, 1884.
- Antonio S. Flores was elected on November 4, 1884 and served until August 4, 1885 when he resigned.
- Richard R. Creech was appointed August 12, 1885 and served until November 2, 1886.
- J. R. Wyatt was elected on November 2, 1886 and served until May 1888. His leaving office is not in the State Election Register but in the county records.
- Richard R. Creech was appointed on May 16, 1888; was elected November 6, 1888 and served until November 4, 1890. His appointment is not in the State Election Register but is in the county records. This was the second time he had served.

- M. J. Ximenes was elected on November 4, 1890; reelected November 6, 1892 and served until November 6, 1894. In the 1892 election his name is shown as Himenz in the State Election Register.
- J. S. Craig was elected November 6, 1894; reelected November 3, 1896 and served until November 8, 1898.
- M. J. Ximenes was elected on November 8, 1898 and served until November 6, 1900.
- J. J. Heathcock was elected on November 6, 1900 and served until November 4, 1902.
- William Lee Wright was elected on November 4, 1902; reelected November 8, 1904, November 6, 1906, November 3, 1908, November 8, 1910, November 5, 1912, November 3, 1914, November 7, 1916 and served until December 31, 1917 when he resigned to accept an appointment as a Texas Ranger. Sheriff Wright served a total of fifteen years as Sheriff and in 1914 was elected president of the Sheriff's Association of Texas. As a Ranger he became Captain of Company D. His father, Leander Berry Wright, was Sheriff of Karnes County and his son, Emanuel Avant "Dogie" Wright was Sheriff of Hudspeth County and was also a Texas Ranger. There have been six different Wrights who have served as a county sheriff in Texas and all were related.
- B. Carnes was appointed on December 31, 1917; was elected November 5, 1918: reelected November 2, 1920, November 7, 1922, November 4, 1924, November 2, 1926, November 6, 1928, November 4, 1930, November 8, 1932, November 6, 1934 and served until January 1, 1937. He was born in Floresville, Texas on April 1, 1877 and died there on October 13, 1953.
- George Robert Boothe was elected on November 3, 1936: reelected November 8, 1938 and served until May 23, 1939 when he died.
- Janie Sample Boothe was appointed to complete her husband's term on May 24, 1939 and served until January 1, 1941. She is the only lady to have served as sheriff in the history of Wilson County.
- Dick J. Roberts was elected on November 5, 1940; reelected November 3, 1942, November 7, 1944 and served until October 1, 1946 when he resigned.
- Paul J. Ermler was appointed on October 1, 1946; was elected on November 5, 1946: reelected November 2, 1948, November 7, 1950, and served until January 1, 1953. He was born January 24, 1903 and died at Poth, Texas January 1, 1955.
- Don C. Carnes was elected on November 4, 1952; reelected November 2, 1954, November 6, 1956 and served until January 1, 1961. He is the son of former Sheriff A. B. Carnes.
- Asa G. Fuller, Jr. was elected on November 8, 1960; reelected November 3, 1964, November 5, 1968, November 7, 1972, November 2, 1976 and served until January 1, 1981 when he retired. Sheriff Fuller served a total of twenty years which is the longest in the history of Wilson County.
- Marvin H. "Pete" Baumann was elected on November 4, 1980; reelected November 6, 1984, November 8, 1988 and served as sheriff until January 1, 1992. Sheriff Baumann was born July 4, 1935 and had been a lawman for thirty years.

• Joe D. Tackitt, Jr. was elected as sheriff in November 1992. He is currently serving in this position having been reelected in November of 1996, 2000, and 2004. Sheriff Tackitt was born on September 20, 1947 and has been a lifelong resident of Wilson County.

Chronological Listing of the County Sheriffs of Wilson County as compiled by Samuel Tise Of the Friench Simpson Memorial Library, Halletsville, Tx